Get “hip” to your kids’ music with playlist and Lala

Before the Christmas break, my alternative music class was working on their projects- “covering” their favorite song, learning the tabs (or notation) and preparing a performance for recording. In the past I have always used itunes to download the songs they were working on so that I had a “frame of reference” but even at $.99 it can get a bit pricey ($30 or so for the class). Since I need to have an idea of what the songs they are working on sound like AND I don’t particularly want to add their music to my itunes library (although some of it is pretty good!) I needed to find a site that I could listen without actually downloading (and do it legally!)

Playlist and Lala are social music sites that allow anyone to upload and share music. It’s a great way for you to “get hip” to what your kids are listening to. Not that we get out of touch as we get older :) Try it out by asking your kids to do a journal of what they listen to in a week (journal exercise).  Type the titles into Playlist or Lala and you will get a window into their world- and realize why they swing like a rusty gate in jazz band…

Now- direct them to the “Jazz” category in Lala and do some listening assignments!

9 Responses to Get “hip” to your kids’ music with playlist and Lala

  1. [...] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptGet “hip” to your kids‘ music with playlist and Lala. Before the Christmas break, my alternative music class was working on their projects- “covering” their favorite song, learning the tabs (or notation) and preparing a performance for … [...]

  2. Cherese Kasper says:

    Wow, these are great websites and suggestions for websites that students can upload songs and playlists to. I will deifinitely be using these websites for a current project I am doing with my students. Instead of having them bring in their Ipod, mp3 player, or c.d. students can have the option to upload their song to the website, and when they present their report, we can use the computer to play their song over the network that they uploaded, what a great idea!!

  3. you are right friend, thanks a lot..

  4. Cherese Kasper says:

    I used playlist and lala this week to find a couple of songs to play for my class this week. I liked that you could upload songs to share. You are not as limited by copyright rules. I was able to share these website suggestion with my students. Thanks so much!

  5. Gary D. says:

    “Online Degree Schools
    Advance Your Education and Career, Get Free Info From Top Online Colleges
    http://www.Online-Degree-Schools.net

  6. Carl M says:

    All the information you want on car insurance quotes at

    myautoinsurancequotesonline.com

  7. Gary Davis says:

    http://www.MyCarInsuranceRates.com – free online quotes and rates from multiple insurers to help you find the right price and save money, plus tons of articles on state insurance requirements

  8. Joey Brunson says:

    I promise I am not going to post my car insurance website. :) But I will post the music teachers wesbite. A practical and realistic approach to teaching.

    http://www.directorspodium.wordpress.com

    But this is a great website – so important to have a technology educator blog. Good job! Look forward to the new posts.

  9. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you
    aren’t already ;) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

