Distance Learning in the Music Classroom- bad news and good news

First for the bad news- for those of you who read my other posts on distance learning (scroll down or see archives) I had been very excited about piloting a broadband video/audio link with another school in my district. They came to install the hardware the other day, and realized that they were missing a few essential peices of installation hardware!

My district technology director was on site and was livid to say the least! Unfortunately, the timeline for installation of the equipment has been set back significantly and I’m unsure when it will actually be installed. That’s the bad news.

The good news is that I was in Tallahassee recently and stopped in to my Alma Mater- the Florida State University to visit my old practice room and locker. In fact, I was in town on another matter and had the opportunity to stop by- I hadn’t been there in years! I got into a conversation about distance learning with the Jazz Studies graduate assistant who gave me the names of the Director of Jazz Studies and the Music Education Department Chair and seemed to think that they would be receptive to the idea of having music education majors mentor my high school musicians. I will try this collaboration first, although any of my readers are welcome to join the effort!

One Response to Distance Learning in the Music Classroom- bad news and good news

  1. Owen:

    I remember your locker in the basement of the FSU School of Music. Mine wasn’t far away. 🙂

    I’m excited for you as you pursue your distance learning endeavors.

    Kelvin

Leave a Reply

