Wanted: Music Pen Pals! (distance learning)

As sort of a New Year’s resolution I’m going to redouble my efforts in trying to establish a distance learning opportunity for my students.  Since we are beginning preparations for our Solo and Ensemble Music Performance Assessment (held in Feb.), I thought it would be interesting to have my students who are preparing music to seek out “pen pals” from other music programs to help them in their preparations.

Basically what I’d like to do is have my students email another student (same instrument) from another school and establish a rapport.  I was thinking of using an email tool like gaggle (filtered email).  I would then record my students playing (or they can record themselves) and email the mp3 file to their pen pal for input.  They could also provide a pdf scan of the music for reference.  The pen pal could then provide feedback to my student and perhaps even model some concepts via a recording of their own.

Now, I know that there are probably better tools to do this- at one point I was considering a blog or wiki to do this- but to get it going I just want to keep it simple.  In my experience, if the students are excited about it, they will find their own ways of “taking it up a notch” via social networking.  My intent here is to start small and easy and work into more sophistication.

The only thing I need is another educator with the willingness to try this.  If any of my readers are willing to experiment with this (I’ll do all of the setup work- just need student volunteers) PLEASE email me at owenbradley@gmail.com

2 Responses to Wanted: Music Pen Pals! (distance learning)

  1. […] I read this post on my bloglines account from Owen Bradley who has a great blog on music technology. I am hoping some of our readers could get involved. As I have said before, if we share our knowledge we could become much stronger. You can call for FREE on skype. I bet you a lot of your kids are practicing over the phone/internet right now. Is your classroom ready for this? Technorati Tags: Owen+Bradley skype Listen to this podcast […]

  2. jtfrankel says:

    Owen,

    What grade level of students are you looking for? I teach at the middle school level and would love to get my students in conversation with other students about playing their instruments. I think your project idea is a good one, and it will be interesting to see what comes of it. Let me know…

    James Frankel

Leave a Reply

