To Elgg or not to Elgg

I’m still searching for partners in my distance learning project, and I happened to hear about another resource that looks promising for collaborations of this and other types is ElggSpaces.  This is the education version of MySpace without the downside of the abuse factor.

I’m a firm believer that we as a society caused our own problems with MySpace, which is not an inherently bad internet resource- we have just made the mistake of giving technology to kids with absolutely no direction.  What did we expect?

I see Elgg as a way for us to allow our students to social network (friends and all) about what’s going on in our programs.  Think of the potential- communicating with students in the way they are familiar with.  Talk about engagement!  I have set up an account for my school and am playing around with it.  I’m pretty MySpace ignorant, so it will probably be a while before I post something useful on this resource.

There are a group of “Elggers” that  are very far along with this type of project.  I have asked them for help, and have subscribed to their podcast, which is fascinating.

2 Responses to To Elgg or not to Elgg

  1. Hey! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  2. Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a information! existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web page.

Leave a Reply

