ActivBoard in the Bandroom: Arranging and Rhythm Decoding

At the end of last school year I did a lesson “on the fly” with my ActivBoard when I realized that the music we were working on needed to be re-written so the mellophones had the melody that was written in the alto sax part. Using the board, I quickly wrote out the part. Of course, you can do that on a regular white board, but the great thing about doing it on the ActivBoard was that at the end of the lesson I printed out the new part for my students so they could practice. I also saved the flipcharts I did as my lesson plan for the day (created a file on my computer with the name of the class, the date, and what we were studying). Now if the principal asked me what I taught that day, I could show him.

I had one of my students take video with my cell phone, which I then transferred to my computer and uploaded to VodPod, an online video hosting social network. Thanks to the great features in WordPress, I can share those videos with you- just click on the videos located in the sidebar (and please don’t judge me too harshly on my teaching method!) I was very nervous putting this raw footage on the internet- I guess deep down we all have our insecurities about others watching us teach!

Oh yes- another thing that took so long for this post was getting permission from my school district and working through the legal ramifications. That is a subject for another post, perhaps on Mustech.net about how we are going to come to grips with the legal issues of a free and open classroom.

4 Responses to ActivBoard in the Bandroom: Arranging and Rhythm Decoding

  1. jameswillisisthebest says:

    This is my first post
    just saying HI

  2. tjweller says:

    Okay, so the ActivBoard questions begin from the Mercer Band. We are still somewhat in the 20th century so bear with me.
    1) You can literally save a screenshot and then print it out? I hate writing warm-ups twice (once in the plan book, once on the board). And I had no idea you could save it.

    2) How did you get or what did you use to put the staffs up there?

    3) The object you are writing with – I assume that comes with the Activboard?

    This is really intriguing me Owen. I see a lot of possibilities, but I want to make sure I have some solid understanding and plans to use it before I begin to lobby to be in the next group of classrooms that gets a “Classroom of the Future Grant”.

    Thank you for your time.

    Sincerely,

    Travis Weller

  3. Maximus says:

    I would like to see a continuation of the topic

  4. Atlantic Station courts families with

    And the Body Shop has plied the strollers with free samples of their bath and beauty products. The almost instant

Leave a Reply

