New toys- silent brass, pocketpod, digital drums

Been a while since I posted, but I’m still alive- seems like I have been preparing for one festival, concert, performance, etc. after another!  Non-stop as I’m sure the band directors in the crowd can attest.  My wife has also been sick, and we are dealing with tests, etc. but enough about me…

I recently got a grant for $5,600 to upgrade our keyboard lab- (subject of a future post) and integrate my “alternative” class with silent brass, line 6 pocket pods, Alesis digital drums, and a cool midi controller that doubles as an electronic drum as well.  I have been working on this for almost 3 months, and Thursday the silent brass came in- I got 2 trumpet  sets, a french horn set, baritone, trombone, and tuba along with a mixer board to tie them all together. When I get it all up and running, I’ll be able to have the class interact without an overwhelming amount of sound in the room.  There is a bit too much to tell here in this short post , so I will post photos/video of the whole system when it is installed.

I also plan to post about the results of the “alternative music” gig- what an experience! Good and bad, we sure learned a lot about what it takes to put a performance together!

Powered by ScribeFire.

4 Responses to New toys- silent brass, pocketpod, digital drums

  1. Kyle Gardner says:

    I’m excited to see some pics. Where did you get the grant?

  2. J. Pisano says:

    Owen,

    Nice to SEE you again. I’ve been using silent brass, personally for almost 10 years (is that when it came out?). I love it. You can literally have all of your brass students rehearse different things sitting next to each other! It’s great.

    All the best,

    ~J. Pisano –

  3. obradley48 says:

    Kyle-

    I got the grant from the NeXt Generation teaching initiative in my county. Basically, I had an audience with the asst. superintendent in charge of the project and made my pitch. He loved the idea and made the funds available.

  4. obradley48 says:

    Joe-

    “You can literally have all of your brass students rehearse different things sitting next to each other! It’s great.”- J. Pisano

    That’s what I plan to do. I simply don’t have enough practice rooms to allow all my students to get the time they want on their instruments- and practicing all together in the same bandroom is impossible. The SX-6 module

    (http://www.yamaha.com/yamahavgn/CDA/ContentDetail/ModelSeriesDetail/0,,CNTID%25253D30740%252526CTID%25253D551151,00.html)

    is going to help them “jam” together without disturbing the other students!

Leave a Reply

