Preparing for the next alternative project- the gear

I received a call today saying that the rest of the technology order for my keyboard lab enhancement project is on the way! I thought you might enjoy reading about what we will end up working with in the new lab.

Existing Lab: Keyboards (16 stations)

Korg Triton LE

Korg GC3 group controller

Windows XP-based computer (boo!)

Tascam CD/Cassette recorder

New Equipment:

12 AT831b microphones w/guitar mount (for acoustic guitars)

1 DM5ProKit electronic drumset

12 MyMonitor interfaces for plugging into the existing keyboard lab stations (think swiss-army knife)

3 PocketPod amp emulators

1 PadKontrol midi control device w/Reason Adapted, Live Lite 7, virtual drum machine, and a host of effects

6 Silent Brass Systems (2 trumpet, 1 French Horn, 1 Trombone, 1 Baritone, 1 Tuba, 1 mixing board)

Cords n’ stuff to hook it all up and together…

What this will enable me to do:

I will now be able to allow my class to all be in the same room at the same time working alone or in groups. We can incorporate synthesizer, brass, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, drums- and can record, sequence, program, and interact in almost infinite combinations. I can now have a digital portfolio on each student and each group. I can now connect (via the GEC3) groups together to practice their projects and communicate with them and they with each other. We also have the makings of an uber-cool performance ensemble!

We will begin this project during the last 9 weeks. I plan to post my lesson plan/unit plan w/assessments and projects, etc. so stay tuned!

I have also basically quadrupled my practice facility (virtually) for a fraction of the cost of new construction- that made my principal happy!

What I’m missing and on my “wish list”

I’d really like to get an electronic wind instrument like the yamaha or akai so I can let my sax players jam along as well! (I can sort of do that with the AT831b mics, but sort of defeats the purpose of the whole “silent” thing…

6 Responses to Preparing for the next alternative project- the gear

  1. J. Pisano says:

    Owen,

    It looks quite an “aresenal” of sound gear! You’re totally “geeked” out! I look forward to your upcoming “podcasts” or posts about it. I’d like to see you document this in a “treeware” publication as well! I certainly think it’s a publishable venture.

    All the best,

    J. Pisano -mustech.net

  2. MusicEdTech says:

    WOW! I though I had THE Lab! I’m in the Dark Ages! You HAVE to tell me how you work this all out. It will take me a couple of hours just researching the gear. Right off the top of my head, I can see you are aiming at student performance on instruments. I love that concept as lots of times we can get caught up on the computer side of Music Tech and forget that we need to create performers first and foremost whether or not kids have ever played and instrument before. Bravo to you and your principal!

  3. MusicEdTech says:

    Hey Owen! I can’t hear the sound on the videos in you side bar…?

  4. Jason Gerard says:

    Thanks for the great post,buddy.Keep on posting the great post.I will check them out again next time.

    Cheers,
    Lenovo Thinkpad Laptops

  5. Although I started as a drummer at 10yo and my dad replaced my drum kit with a guitar and a Rockman, I’ve always been interested in synths and setting up my own recording studio. My first keyboard was a Roland Juno 106 I got for free because it had two broken keys. My first studio was a Fostex 4-track.

    Well, that was then but nowadays I’m enthralled with my Korg Triton LE. I also have a Korg Electribe EM-1 because it’s great to take along on a plane or long car ride and program some drum tracks. I also have a Roland V-Tour electronic drum kit with all mesh heads. At last count, there were over 60 guitars floating around my two homes. A few years ago I wasted a ton of money on a Mackie 1604VLZ Pro, a MOTU 2408 PCI and a Dell 8520 setting up my first digital studio using Sonic Foundry Vegas. UGGGH !!! The latency was as bad as those old Roland Guitar Synths.

    Now I am getting better quality using an MultiMix 8 FireWire and runnng Cubase on my HP Pavillion laptop. Just think, when Frank Zappa toured around with a van full of recording gear to get 64 tracks, I can carry my whole studio in a laptop bag and a backpack. Heck, Linkin Park recorded parts of their songs on the tour bus using a laptop, a Kork Triton and Pro Tools !!!

    Well, enough about setups. I wanted to ask you if you could turn me on to any sites that have downlodable patches for the Triton. My laptop and my new workstation both have built in card readers, so I’d like to use the card that came with my Triton.

    Any suggestions ?

    Thanks,
    Dave

  6. kork says:

    The man who, a reoccuring basis?Greater quality and, sounds like all.On the U, for extended periods.Sponsor If not kork, principles of photography volatile The uneven.Take both recreation, to fly around.,

Leave a Reply

