Get a Free Music Education Online

Nowadays, it is easy to get an online music education without spending a dime. Universities, colleges and other online sources offer dozens of free courses and lessons for energetic self-learners. Here are 15 free online courses that almost any music student would enjoy:

 

Introduction to Music – Wikiversity offers free music education through its School of Music and Dance. This introductory music course provides instruction in musical concepts, rhythm, melody, timbre, structure, and texture.

 

Creating Musical Sounds – This course from the Open University teaches students about the sounds that come from different instruments. The course contains six sections to help students understand the waves and frequencies of different instruments. 

 

The Fundamentals to Scales and Key Signatures – The U.S. Army Element School of Music teaches students to write and identify all the scales and key signatures in music in this free music education course. Course topics include major and minor scales, chromatic, whole tone, and pentatonic scales. 

 

Music Composition – This free online music course from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) teaches students how to compose and perform their own work. The course includes audio files, composer notes, and sample projects completed by MIT students.

 

Harmony and Counterpoint I – Harmony and Counterpoint I is a two-part MIT course that explores the formal practices of classical music. Students are expected to study tones of figuration, simple counterpoint, and diatonic harmony. 

 

Sound for Music Technology – This Open University course focuses on the physics of sound. Students study the pitch and loudness of music in relation to amplitude and frequency. 

 

Voice Lesson – Berklee provides several free online music lessons to self-learners, including this voice lesson. The lesson includes video, practice exercises, and other study materials.  

 

Organ Performance – Brigham Young University offers this free music course with an emphasis on organ performance. The course includes 16 lessons as well as assignments. 

 

Musical Analysis – This MIT course focuses on rhythm, harmony, and line relationships. The course includes assignments and other study materials.

 

Free Violin Lessons – FolkoftheWood.com offer a variety of acoustic lessons separated into three categories: from beginner to advanced. 

 

Composition and Improvisation in Cross-Cultural Prospective – Students in this Open University course study the basic principles of music through video, music structure, and memory. 

 

Blues Basics – This free music lesson, also from Wikiversity, introduces students to playing the Blues. Topics include chord progression, scale, and twelve-bar blues. 

 

Bass Lessons – ActiveBass.com offers free interactive bass lessons for students of all levels.  There are more than 8,000 lessons available in all. 

 

Free Guitar Lessons – FreeGuitarVideos.com offers free video lessons to music students who want to learn to play the guitar. The site currently hosts more than 150 free lessons. A new lesson is added each week.

 

Free Piano Lessons – GoPiano.com offers free video piano lessons for beginner and advanced students. This course includes seven lessons along with quizzes and an exam. 

 

 

Guest Post from Karen Schweitzer who writes about online college education for OnlineCollege.org.

 

52 Responses to Get a Free Music Education Online

  1. […] Get a Free Music Education Online « The Digital Music Educator […]

  2. […] Originally posted here: Get a Free Music Education Online « The Digital Music Educator […]

  3. […] to Learn About music Online 28 09 2009 I ran into a blog post which had a good list going here and thought I’d add a few ideas to the list which were more suited to elementary aged […]

  4. David Motto says:

    These are all great links! Musicians should be taking advantage of every online opportunity for learning their instruments. It’s never been easier to get information on learning music.

    They should also be taking in information on how to practice effectively since this accelerates learning and makes playing more fun. I have a blog and free eBook on my website moltomusic.com that will give musicians the secrets to practicing well.

  5. bsn online says:

    I love this blog. Could let me know how I can keeping up to date with it? By the way I stumbled upon this blog through Bing.

  6. Rostarco says:

    Excelent post! Great links.Keep up the good work.
    Thank you.

  7. Marcus says:

    Thank you for the really good content.

    Thanks again

  8. Marcus says:

    thank you for the really good content.

    Marcus

    • Jessie says:

      I was suggested this web web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my difficulty. Yo&;r8217u#e incredible! Thanks!

  9. Great articles, thanks for posting! ~~a.s.

  10. sami says:

    you are the best thanksss

  11. smai says:

    thanks for sharing…^^

  12. All good resources; several more have popped up in recent years. Interactive technology is of special interest (GarageBand lessons, etc), though I don’t think those can ever take the place of a human instructor.

  13. Great web site you have here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing like yours nowadays. I honestly appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!

  14. Cursos Del Inem says:

    Brilliant efforts! This may be the sort of tips
    that are supposed to be discussed around the internet.
    Shame on the seek engines for no longer placing this particular report higher!
    Come on over and visit my internet page . Many thanks =)

  15. official says:

    Everything is very open with a precise explanation of the issues.

    It was definitely informative. Your site is extremely helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  16. i love music and i would like 2 learn more about vocals & the keyboard lessons as well….. thanks.

  17. diet says:

    Hey there this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding expertise so I wanted to get guidance
    from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  18. Josh says:

    I do think i’ll learn more because i have a passion for music

  19. i like this blog.. so i can learn music trough this blog…

  20. A low monthly membership fee gives students unlimited
    access to the question-based clep study courses on the
    website. Art helps relieve stress and divert minds from useless thoughts.

    Selecting a excellent colour scheme will get your design venture on the suitable monitor.

  21. Joyce says:

    Wow! Very informative. Pls keep it up. Thx a bunch!

  22. Trinidad says:

    After looking into a handful of the articles on your blog,
    I really like your technique of blogging. I added it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking back in the near future.

    Please check out my web site as well and let me know how you feel.

  23. Cant go wrong with a free music lesson.

  24. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that service?
    Many thanks!

  25. learn piano says:

    Hi there! I know this is kind of off topic but I
    was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  26. Heh! I was wondering, how do you get into this music school?

  27. OMG OMG OMG!!! I’m breathless!!!!!

  28. I always spent my half an hour to read this webpage’s articles everyday along
    with a mug of coffee.

  29. I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this webpage on regular basis to get updated from most
    recent gossip.

  30. Kwame Seraphim says:

    I realy must to inform my friends to enjoy what am enjoying

  31. Dorcas says:

    Hi all, here everfy one is sharing these kinds of knowledge, thus it’s pleasant to read
    this weblog, and I used to go to seee this blog every day.

  32. Kusoro Gbenga says:

    l wish to take your music online lesson

  33. Kusoro Gbenga says:

    l wish to take your music lessons

  34. Please help me, cuz I really need your help. I don’t have a very good voice for singing, but I love singing and I want to become a musician. When ever I try singing I can get stuck at some point and all that I have been thinking is that I was not born with the gift of singing so maybe singing is not good for me, but then someone encouraged me that I don’t have to be born with singing talent before I become a singer, n that person to me that anyone can become a profession singer once you pratice constantly. So from that guy advised I still built a hope that I will become a profession singer some day, but now I can’t just able to do this alone I need someone to hard me in the process and I’m pretty show that you can able to do that for me. Please help me my dear maybe with your help I could forfill my dream of becomming one of the most popular stars some days.

  35. Bruce Arnold says:

    http://music-education.org is also offering free music educational courses in many subjects including: music theory, note recognition and interval recognition.

  36. Dave Myers says:

    Now online (Sept 2016), free, mobile friendly, “a Music Crash Course” – no registration required.
    http://davemyers.com/amcc

Leave a Reply

